Slide background



New Texas Law: Online Harassment

On Tuesday, September 1, 2009, several laws will go into effect in Texas, including a law which makes online harassment a third-degree felony.

This new law specifies that a person can be charged with online harassment if he or she uses the name of another person to create a Web page or to post one or more messages on a commercial social networking site without obtaining the other person’s consent with the intent to harm, defraud, intimidate, or threaten any person.  Online harassment is punishable by 2-10 years in prison and a fine not to exceed $10,000.

Those who blog frequently or use Facebook and/or Twitter should be especially careful.  For instance, if you have an argument with a friend or a co-worker, think twice before venting online, because you could be charged with online harassment.