If you are arrested for DWI in Texas, your goal will likely be keeping the offense off of your record. A DWI conviction will usually follow you for life, and can have a negative effect decades after your case is resolved. But the immediate consequences of a DWI conviction can also be varied and long-lasting. This is why it is important to hire a top DWI lawyer to defend your case.
A first-time DWI offense is considered a Class “B” misdemeanor in Texas. Class “B” Misdemeanors are punishable by 180 days in jail, a $2,000 fine or both, or up to two years of probation.
For most adult first-time DWI offenders, additional consequences of a DWI can include:
-A driver’s license suspension from 90 days to one year upon conviction.
-An administrative driver’s license suspension of 90 days or 180 days.
-A $1000 a year driver’s license surcharge for up to three years.
-Possible disqualification from obtaining a concealed weapon license.
It is important to remember that these consequences can be more severe depending on the facts of your case. A top DWI attorney will be able to tell you exactly what consequences you are facing, and how best to defend your case. If you are charged with DWI, DUI or any alcohol related offense, the attorneys at Scheiner Law Group in Houston, TX, are an excellent choice and have been representing people charged with alcohol related offenses since 1995.