If you are charged with DWI, DUI or any alcohol related offense in Houston, Texas or anywhere, you may feel the desire to end the case as quickly as possible, perhaps by jumping on the first offer made the prosecutors. After all, you might think, the sooner your DWI case is over, the sooner probation will be over and the sooner you will get your life back.
Although this feeling is understandable, there are several reasons why you should do everything you can to fight your DWI charge. Most obviously, there are the criminal penalties. In Texas, a first offense DWI is considered a class “B” misdemeanor, and is punishable by a fine of up to $2000 and six months in jail. Alternatively, you can be put on probation which can be very costly and time consuming.
Other less obvious consequences of a DWI conviction in Texas can include an administrative driver’s license suspension (usually three or six months, depending on whether you consented to a chemical test), a driver’s license surcharge of $1000 a year for three years, and much higher rates for auto insurance. A conviction for DWI will also follow you forever and could affect your ability to find work or obtain credit.
The evidence used by police to prove DWI cases is inaccurate, and as a result, virtually no case is a lost cause. It is well-known that SFSTs are unreliable and designed to make people appear intoxicated. Additionally, it is well known that breath and blood test evidence is prone to error. When faced with the severe and lasting consequences of Texas DWI conviction, it makes sense to fight.